Types of Metachromatic Leukodystrophy


Types list: The list of types of Metachromatic Leukodystrophy mentioned in various sources includes:

  • Late infantile MLD - most common form
  • Juvenile MLD
  • Adult MLD

Types discussion: There are three forms of MLD: late infantile, juvenile, and adult. In the late infantile form, which is the most common, onset of symptoms begins between ages 6 months and 2 years. The infant is usually normal at birth, but eventually loses previously gained abilities. Symptoms include hypotonia (low muscle tone), speech abnormalities, loss of mental abilities, blindness, rigidity (uncontrolled muscle tightness), convulsions, impaired swallowing, paralysis, and dementia. Symptoms of the juvenile form begin between ages 4 and 14, and include impaired school performance, mental deterioration, ataxia, seizures, and dementia. In the adult form, symptoms, which begin after age 16, may include impaired concentration, depression, psychiatric disturbances, ataxia, tremor, and dementia. Seizures may occur in the adult form, but are less common than in the other forms. In all three forms mental deterioration is usually the first sign. 1

1. excerpt from NINDS Metachromatic Leukodystrophy Information Page: NINDS

Medical Tools & Articles:

Next articles:

Medical Articles:
CureResearch.comTM Copyright © 2010 Health Grades, Inc. All rights reserved.
Home | Contents | Search | Site Map | Feedback | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | About Us | Advertise